This post may contain affiliate links, which means I'll receive a commission if you purchase through my link, at no extra cost to you. Please read the full disclosure for more information. 

Poshmark is a great place to sell your unused clothing items or other kinds of home items. If you’ve never used Poshmark before, this guide covers many of the main features of Poshmark to help you get started!

Why should you sell on Poshmark?

Sure, there’s definitely plenty of choices in platforms to sell your clothing but you should definitely take a look at Poshmark, and here’s why. Poshmark is a mobile app but it also has a website where you have access to almost the same tools. If you prefer to batch-process items, it can be helpful to have access to the desktop instead of doing things on your phone. But having the mobile app also lets you keep an eye on your sales and lets you answer comments or update listings on the go. So having access to both desktop and mobile access is super helpful. Here are a few other reasons you should check out Poshmark:

  • You have control over pricing – You get to set the price that you want on your items. This can be seen as both a good or bad thing. But I generally lean towards the positive side because you know your items best, and researching competitive prices is not hard, especially since you can do so within Poshmark.
  • Poshmark moderates returns – Thank goodness for this! I haven’t had to handle a return (yet) but it makes me feel better that Poshmark is a part of the process, plus returns cannot be done just for fit. Here is what is covered for returns: undisclosed damage, incorrect or missing item, item not as described, the item is not authentic (check Poshmark’s website for more info or updates)
  • Bargaining on price is encouraged – In case you wondering, bargaining is definitely encouraged! There’s an offers process that you, as seller, can initiate and there’s also an offers process that the buyer can initiate.
  • Your listings can appear on Google – This is a super cool part of Poshmark! Your listings can appear on Google searches (check your settings), and people can even buy without having a Poshmark account.

If you’re interested in joining Poshmark for the first time, you can use my code to save $10 on your first purchase! Sign up here, and follow me on Poshmark at @closet_yasmin.

→ Cons of selling on Poshmark

As with any service, here are a few drawbacks of selling on Poshmark.

  • Poshmark Fees – I don’t know about you, but this was expected. After all, someone’s gotta pay for that website! So here’s what Poshmark says about fees: “After your item sells, we deduct a small fee from the final order price. For sales under $15, the fee is a flat rate of $2.95. For sales above $15, the fee is 20% and you keep 80%”. So be sure to keep these fees in mind when pricing your items!
  • Constant Sharing, Interacting is Expected – This is can be a downside but it really depends. Sharing is definitely expected and rewarded. Poshmark will even say when was the last time you shared an item from your closet, which definitely emphasizes that they expect you to share. However, if you are selling items that are constantly being searched, the amount of sharing and self-promoting you will have to do will be a lot less than if you are selling items that are less in-demand.

What can you sell on Poshmark?

Poshmark has definitely expanded its markets over the years. They even sell luxury items that they authenticate!

Here’s a full list of markets:

  • Women
  • Men
  • Kids
  • Home
  • Luxury
  • Beauty & Wellness
  • Plus Size
  • Boutiques
  • Wholesale – this one is really for buyers who run boutiques or for resellers to add items to their closets
Poshmark-Markets | Guide to Selling on Poshmark | Sincerely Yasmin

Steps to Selling

For the most part, selling on Poshmark is pretty simple. Here’s how the general steps to selling look:

  • Choose an item
  • Take several photos of the item
  • Create a title for the item
  • Write a description of the item
  • Choose the size, color, and brand of the item, plus a few more questions that Poshmark asks
  • Set the item price (remember to add in a fee margin for those Poshmark fees and shipping discounts)
  • List Item

However, if you want to improve your chances of selling your items, it’s best to take a little bit of extra time and make sure you’re covering a couple of bases. Let’s take a look.

→ Pre-Listing Prep

However annoying it can be, and trust me, it can be very annoying, it’s best to do some listing work at the beginning instead of waiting until someone asks (by then you might’ve already lost the buyer). By providing this information upfront, the people that come across your listing will have more info to work with when making purchasing decisions.

  • Take several pictures of the items
    • Depending on what items you are photographing, there are different “shots” that are considered basic. For example, if you look across different listings for pants, you’ll notice that there’s a pretty high level of pictures of the crotch and thigh area, even more so with workout pants. That’s because buyers are interested in how worn that area is.
    • So take a look at a few different listings that are similar to what you are listing, and take note of what shots they have in their item listing. If you’re selling a top, take a look at other top listings and see what pictures they have.
    • For most items, you’ll want to start with the following pictures:
      • top-down picture of the front and back of the item
      • close-up shots of the brand label, size, and materials label
      • detail shots of any flaws in the item
      • then add any item-specific pictures as needed
  • Take measurements of the items
    • Same as above, there will be different measurements needed depending on the item you are selling.
    • For tops, some measurements that I see listed are pit to pit or chest area and shoulder to hem or length.
    • For pants, some measurements listed are the length across the top of the pant, the rise of the pant in inches (crotch to the top of the pant, this lets the buyer know if it’s low, mid, or high-rise), and the inseam (crotch to hem).
  • Write down the brand of the item, and if it’s part of a special collection
    • Remember what I said about your items showing up on Google searches? If your item is special enough, someone might be looking for it with the name of the special collection, or the product number or style code. If it’s a special enough item, make sure you take note of these numbers or names now, so you have it ready when you’re writing up the item description and listing to sell on Poshmark.

If you’re interested in joining Poshmark for the first time, you can use my code to save $10 on your first purchase! Sign up here, and follow me on Poshmark at @closet_yasmin.

→ Creating a Listing on Poshmark

Here’s my absolute favorite part about listing to sell on Poshmark: you can choose to do it on your computer or your phone! There’s a Poshmark website where you can list or you can list straight from your phone. Personally, I like to batch upload my items so I tend to list on my computer, that way I can use my keyboard when writing out the descriptions. Now that you’ve chosen how you want to list, let’s get into the steps of listing.

  • Gather your pictures! 
    • Considering that pictures are super important to Poshmark listings, you want to make sure you have all your pictures easily accessible. I actually like to make individual folders on my computer for each item. This organization also helps me when editing my pictures.
    • You could also go ahead and edit your pictures at this point. I like to use Snapseed to edit my pictures on my phone (usually when I’m listing a single item), and Fotor for desktop batch photo editing.
    • Important note: you can add a max of 16 photos and 1 video to your Poshmark listing. Videos are a new thing as of April 2020.
  • Grab your notes (brands, sizes, labels, measurements) and create item description
    • Now, it’s time to create your item description! This is where the notes about brands, sizes, labels, and measurements come in handy. Poshmark’s listing description has sooo many parts but they’re helpful when selling. Here’s a list of them:
      • Photos & Videos
      • Title
      • Description
      • Category > Subcategory (optional)
      • Quantity
      • Size
      • New with Tags?
      • Brand
      • Color
      • Pricing > Original Price, Listing Price, Discounted Shipping (new)
      • Availability
    • When creating your description, you want to add as much info as you can for potential buyers. Think about what information you look for when shopping for yourself, and then make sure to add that information to your description. I have noticed that the higher the price of the item, the more information the item tends to have, which makes sense since the item is a higher investment for a buyer.
    • Some information to help with your listings: the title has a max of 50 characters, and the description has a max of 500 characters.
  • Click to List!
    • Yay! You’ve finished creating your listing, and it’s ready to list and sell! You can also share it on other social media channels, which can be helpful if you’ve got large audiences somewhere else.

→ Listing & Sharing to Sell on Poshmark

After listing, comes the sharing! Now that you’ve listed, you can share to parties or to your followers throughout the day. This is the part that can be kind of intense about Poshmark, even though it is super helpful.

Poshmark is a social app on top of being a place to sell clothing. This is helpful because you know that the people that are hanging around the app are looking to buy. However, if you’re new to the app, it can be overwhelming to get shares and to get an audience for your clothing. Thankfully, people are really willing to share each other’s items; instead of follow-for-follow, it’s share-for-share (lol)!

This is how my listings look on Poshmark. I try to re-share my items as much as possible, which means my sold items are near the bottom of the app. It can also be very helpful to participate in Posh Parties at the beginning to expand your audience and to get shares from other Poshmark users.

Poshmark-Closet | Sincerely Yasmin

What are Posh Parties?

Posh Parties are basically events that help to bring attention to your items. Parties are usually themed (like “Everything Kids Posh Party”) or only accept certain types of brands or items. These Posh Parties happen four times a day:

  • 9 AM PT / 10 AM MT / 11 AM CT / 12 PM ET
  • 12 PM PT / 1 PM MT / 2 PM CT / 3 PM ET
  • 4 PM PT / 5 PM MT / 6 PM CT / 7 PM ET
  • 7 PM PT / 8 PM MT / 9 PM CT / 10 PM ET

Now. Posh Parties are heavily used by a lot of users, which means your items might get some views but will also get lost in the massive number of shares. Also, people tend to not stick to the themes, which means everything is shared (unless the party is restricted by brands or item types).


I hope this guide was helpful in getting you acquainted with Poshmark and all of their features. I love to use Poshmark to find new items and to sell my own items when I’m ready for something new.

If you’re interested in joining Poshmark for the first time, you can use my code to save $10 on your first purchase! Sign up here, and follow me on Poshmark at @closet_yasmin.

-Yasmin

This was a style & fashion post about
the Complete Guide to Selling on Poshmark.

Similar Posts

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *